Month: October 2007

  • under construction

    This is where I put up a cheesy pic of a road construction sign with some stick-figure guy shoveling manure. Site is being redesigned and re-purposed. Photos will still be here, but so will other stuff too.

    In other boring news, I read "The Good Earth" earlier this week. This is the sort of book I wished I could have read before I got old.

  • asdoc and -templates-path

    The flex documentation tool, asdoc, would not do anything I asked it to. It would spit out an error message saying "Error: 'templates-path' is not a directory". I couldn't figure out where the heck it was being told to use a templates-path: there's no reference to it in the flex config file, and it's not an environment variable. By luck, I was poking around the help messages ("asdoc -help list") and noticed templates-path is an option to the asdoc tool. A quick look at the adobe asdoc tool reference shows it's the path to the documentation templates it needs to build the documentation, and has a default setting.

    Duh.

    Of course it needs templates to build the documentation! It was something stupid, like not finding the templates and thus quitting. The solution was to specify it explicitly on the shell: "asdoc -templates-path path to templates other options".